x
Square

Future of Food // Seller Insights // Burma Bear

FoF Banner Burma Bear.png

Hi Square Sellers, This week's interview is with Hubert Lim, the Chef/Owner of Burma Bear in Oakland, California. We talk about his unique QSR concept as well as his approach to pre-order meals, protein kits, and delivery during shelter-in-place.

Journey into Ownership

My parents and I immigrated from Burma when I was very young and I grew up in San Francisco. We always ate authentic Burmese cuisine at home so that was my foundation. I was always cooking and as I got older I developed a love and passion for American-style bbq. At one point I realized I could marry the two different cuisines together. I began doing pop-ups towards the end of 2013. In 2014, I started with the Burma Bear concept at food and music festivals to test the waters. I had no background in restaurants so I’m completely self taught.

There was a marketplace in the Upper Haight neighborhood that had 5 vendors with some retail and a 10’ x 10’ space for food. I thought it would be a good chance to try this out. I opened in October of 2014. I was cooking the proteins and prepping in a commercial kitchen and then bringing most stuff in for service. It was an affordable opportunity despite all the constraints. I slowly added one employee as it became busy and then one more as business continued to grow.

In 2015, we started to do a recurring spot at Off the Grid in Fort Mason. I also launched catering for corporate events and companies out of the same commercial commissary kitchen in Oakland. The catering really took off but I was paying an hourly rate to use the rental kitchen so it didn’t make sense as a long term model. That’s when I began looking for my own space.

Hubert Lim, Chef/Owner of Burma BearHubert Lim, Chef/Owner of Burma Bear

Brick and Mortar