x

Sync Woocommerce to Square First Time

I've used Woocommerce, but I've never used Square before. My client has used Square, but she's never used Woocommerce before. She has about 80 items in her store. We're putting a subset of about 30 of those 80 items as products in Woocommerce. We have the Woocommerce Square plugin set up. We're putting SKUs on the products/items that are common to both Woo and Square, but the items that are only in Square never had SKUs and are not going to get them at this time. If we manually sync from Woo to Square:

1) Will the 50 non-SKU items in Square remain unaffected?

2) Will the sync adjust name, price, etc. in items that have a matching SKU but a different name or price?

3) Will any bad things happen? Is this something we should do on a Saturday night so we have all day Sunday to fix it?

4) Is there a way to un-sync?

5) The big fear is that the sync will duplicate Woo products into Square items instead of syncing Woo products into Square items. Logic tells me that as long as the Square items have SKUs that match Woo products, there should be no duplication. Is logic right? Is it possible to have two items in Square with the same SKU?

At what point does passive sync begin? I keep reading that the sync "just happens" but so far items/products that have the same SKU don't appear to be syncing.

Message 1 of 13
1 Best Answer
Super Seller

Best Answer

I am using WooCommerce and the Square sync so I think I can help you out a bit here. I'll answer your questions first then go into detail below... (this is gonna be a long post!!)

Yes. Any non-SKU items will not be imported over

2) Will the sync adjust name, price, etc. in items that have a matching SKU but a different name or price?

It can. I had an item that was shared between two locations. I changed the category in WooCommerce and it ended up changing the category in both locations. Be careful with this one! (I'll go into detail more below)