x

Invoices - Necessary?

Hi All,

I'm new to the whole business world and i was just wondering whether or not invoices are necessary.

I intend to be selling items soley through my website, with no recurring payments. I don't want to take the customers information myself and set up the transaction, i just want the customers to put their information in themselves at the checkout.

However, i've read online that invoices are necessary for tax purposes etc, so do i need them and if so, how do i use them from a online retail perspective?

Message 1 of 4
Report Inappropriate Content
1 Verified Answer
Verified Answer

Re: Invoices - Necessary?

Hi @Lyssy, thank you for reaching out! What I'd also recommend is looking at our best practices guide for accepting payments online - these tips will help to protect you from fraud and disputes. 

1 Best Answer
Beta Member

Best Answer

Hi @Lyssy,

I donโ€™t believe invoices are necessary as long as you have sent the customer a receipt. It may be worth looking into a delivery note though, on there VAT would be included and so the customer has every bit of information. Itโ€™s better to be safe then sorry ๐Ÿ‘

View Best Answer >

Message 2 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
Beta Member

Best Answer

Hi @Lyssy,

I donโ€™t believe invoices are necessary as long as you have sent the customer a receipt. It may be worth looking into a delivery note though, on there VAT would be included and so the customer has every bit of information. Itโ€™s better to be safe then sorry ๐Ÿ‘

Message 2 of 4
Admin

Hi @Lyssy, thank you for reaching out! What I'd also recommend is looking at our best practices guide for accepting payments online - these tips will help to protect you from fraud and disputes. 

Tra
Community Manager, Square
Have a burning question to ask in our Question of the Week? Share it with us!
Message 3 of 4