x

Adding custom taxes in Australia

Hi All,

I apologise if this has already been raised in another thread.

I am new to square and setting up my new site and was surpirsed that Square does not have any features to automatically add credit card processing fees at checkout or add custom taxes within Australia.

Is anyone else having this problem and has anyone found a way around it?

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Square Community Moderator

Hi @aflaserdesigns, Thanks for reaching out! Additionally, welcome to the Square Seller Community! 🎉

With Square, you can create and manage taxes from the Square app and online Dashboard. Square’s fees are taken out of the total amount of each transaction, including tax and tip. 

I hope this information is helpful but please do let us know if you have any additional questions. Always happy to help! 😊

Violet
Community Moderator, Square
Sign in and click Mark as Best Answer if my reply answers your question.
Message 2 of 6

Hi Alanah,

Thank you for your message. I have created by own taxes however it would not apply at checkout. I spoke to someone at Square support who advised me that the reason it would not apply was because that function was not available for Australian customers.

Is that incorrect? If so I would love to know why my custom taxes are not applying to my product sales at checkout.

Thanks

Message 3 of 6
Admin

Hey @aflaserdesigns,

I'm our Australian Community manager based out of Melbourne - can you tell me a little more about the issue? Which Square product are you referring to - eg Square Point of Sale, Square Online, Appointments etc?

Australian accounts with ABNs registered for GST should automatically have this tax set up via your tax settings: