x

Bugs in Import Tool

Is anybody actually using the import tool for items? This thing is buggy as hell. If you export your items, and then immediately import them back in it sets all of the "ENABLED" fields to "N". It exports 2 fields with the same field name (PRICE) - one of them is supposed to be "PRICE FORMAT". I have messed with it for hours, and I am a programmer. This was released way to early, and apparently not tested at all. I was also told by support that it defaults to replacing the database, so you need to export first. I did not find this to be the case. In my testing, it was always appending, even creating duplicate items when dupes were present. UGH.

THIS NEEDS TO BE FIXED

Message 1 of 32
1 Verified Answer
Verified Answer

Re: Bugs in Import Tool

@jimkramer61 - Just heard back from our Engineering team, and they let me know that this issue should be resolved now. Would you mind checking things out again? 

31 REPLIES 31
Square

@jimkramer61 - Appreciate you taking the time to share, and major apologies for the inconvenience. I am happy to share that this is definitely something that needs to be fixed, and we're already on it. I'll be sure to share an update as soon as I hear one! 

Sean
he/him/his
Product Manager | Square, Inc.
Message 2 of 32
Square

@jimkramer61 - Just heard back from our Engineering team, and they let me know that this issue should be resolved now. Would you mind checking things out again? 

Sean
he/him/his
Message 3 of 32

still appears to be setting the enabled flag to "N" on every item imported. If you export the current list, then immediately import same list, all are set to disabled. Extra "Price" column appears to be fixed (removed).

Message 4 of 32

Importing still appends. There is no way to replace the entire database of items without deleting them one at a time from the interface.

Message 5 of 32
Square