x
Beta Member

Excel Order Export File - how do people manage the multiple lines?

I am not an Excel expert and I am really struggling with the Export Orders Detail CSV file.  The one line with customer data and then the next lines with the order details.  Do people have some Excel Magic that manipulates the data so it is in more of a database format?

I exported order detail from the SquareUp space and it is more of a database format CSV but it does not have the Square Order Number it just has some Transaction and Customer ID numbers.

Any help would be appreciated - I am manually editing the Export Orders Detail excel file and I have had a few human errors, naturally 😞

Thanks so much! -Chris

Message 1 of 17
1 Best Answer
Super Seller

Best Answer

@ChrisRNF Very thorough explanation.  I believe I understand.  Also, from what I see in that file, there are a couple of solutions possible.  None of them will do EVERYTHING you want, but they will produce the data results you want.  I’ll work on this over the next few days and upload a file to you.  If you’re ok with it, please PM me a Square.online file containing your data to use.  That way, what I send back to you (via PM) will be recognizable to you.

Chip

If my answer resolves your issue, please take a minute to mark it as Best Answer. That helps people who find this thread in the future.

Piper’s Ice Cream Bar, Covington KY USA
Website
Facebook
Click here to see a list of third-party apps I use to add functionality to my Square account!

View Best Answer >

Message 6 of 17
16 REPLIES 16
Super Seller

@ChrisRNF I can certainly help with this.  I’ve been programming spreadsheets and using them as databases for decades.  However, I do not see a way to expert an orders detail CSV from the Square dashboard. Can you either tell me where you are getting that CSV from, or attach it to a reply so I can look at yours?

Thanks,

Chip