x

Starting over - Help Please

Hello! I've been tasked with fixing our school store. It started out with just a few items. Then it got bigger. Then they added a Square account to help process payments. Then they opened a web store. It is my understanding that it was pieced together without really understanding any "best practices." And while it is working - they do not feel it is working at its optimal potential.

Please note I'm willing to research and read - I'm not asking anyone to spell everything out for me - I just thought I'd see if I could get pointed in a general direction.

I think we need two main things:

1. Optimized inventory naming/grouping (I'm not sure we have everything listed/grouped/labeled to the best of our ability

2. Easier checkout at our physical store resulting in less selling errors to improve our inventory reporting

I am new to Square myself and I'm a bit overwhelmed with all of the options. I'm looking for help in pointing me in the right direction for redoing our account/POS/online store. It is a small physical store inside of our school. It is usually open one day a week and often ran by a volunteer/parent. We also offer the online store available at any time. Once items are purchased online they are delivered to the student in their classroom. 

Inventory is one of our largest problems. They use an iPad Mini and the card swiper. I'm understanding that they inventory errors might be due to selecting the wrong item at checkout because of chaos or just accidentally choosing a wrong item. I believe a scanner would be an incredible help with this situation. I think it would reduce errors and processing time as the volunteer would not have to scroll through the store to find the correct item to sell.