x
Admin

What inspired you to start your business? Do you still feel the same way? ☁️

Hello Seller Community! ☀️ 

Today, we'd like to hear about what inspired you to start your business and if you still feel the same way about it now. 

giphy (1).gif

Please feel free to reply below with your thoughts and a bit about your business! 💭 

️ Isabelle | she/her
Seller Community & Super Seller Program Manager | Square, Inc.
Learn about the Super Seller program!
Message 1 of 40
39 REPLIES 39
Super Seller

It was actually the recession in 2007 that got me thinking about opening my current business. I had been a contractor for over 30 years building Spec houses and the bottom dropped out of it with the recession. I struggled thru next 6 years doing small jobs and remodels but it finally reached a point where my body was just giving out and couldn’t take the damage I was doing trying to do all the work by myself. I had been vaping for about 4 years at that point I used it to kick a 2 1/2 pack a day smoking habit when nothing else worked. Wasn’t a shop up here and I was knowledgeable about it with lots of connections in the industry so I decided to open up the shop in small town to help other people kick the smoking habit the same as I did. It’s been fun over the last 7+ years. Lot more government regulations to follow and of course it’s a full time job making sure that all of them are followed very carefully but yes I still enjoy it. Don’t make anywhere near as much money as when I was building houses but it’s kind of nice to relax in the air conditioning every day 

Message 2 of 40

That is very cool!  

Message 3 of 40
Super Seller

Hello all! 👋

I started my business, R&R Coffee Cafe, back in March of 2008. How I came about it is pretty fun.

I have been in the foodservice industry since my first job washing dishes back in high school. Restaurants have always been something that I've been interested in, and my restaurant jobs definitely helped put me through college.