x
Beta Member

Which Platform should I use

I've been using square for a few months now.  For the most part it has allowed me to run my business, have a website for online ordering and take payments.  During this time I encountered a few issues that seem to be common amongst the Food & Beverage community.

My question is.  Is there a benefit to paying for either square for retail or square for restaurants? 

Before you answer, let me elaborate on my business.

I operate a mobile "Pop up" pizza shop.  I offer a pick up service only. No bricks and mortar store. I operate alone, so the website and online ordering are my main source of revenue. 

My model is based on pre orders, I allow one customer per 15 mins over a 3 hour service.  I am now beginning to open a second night of the week as the demand for my products is increasing. I have a few issues with the online ordering, when I have pick up times available, after a few orders are placed these don't appear for customers.  They then contact me through social media to place orders which I then have to manually create as an open ticket.  

Any guidance or advice from people who opted to move to either retail or restaurant pos and share their experience with it would be much appreciated.

Thanks for reading and I look forward to any feedback!

Message 1 of 25
24 REPLIES 24
Admin

Hey @Backyardpizza, good to hear from you!

Based on the setup you're describing, I'm not sure there would be any specific benefit for using Square for Restaurants / Retail over your currently setup. With that said, there are free versions available so you're welcome to check them out and see if any of the additional features are helpful. @Smithward or @dimo10 may have some advice to share here as sellers who have used the pickup system before.

In terms of order limiting for pickup times, I wonder if this might be explained in how rate limiting works on a rolling basis - was any of the info in this thread helpful at all?

Seamus