x
Beta Member

Why doesn't Square have a unified UI and syncing between Square Online and Square POS?

I am rather new to Square and find Square very frustrating because of the inconsistencies between Square Online and Square POS. For example, if prices, descriptions, and pictures sync between the two sites, why not discounts, sale prices, and categories? 

To make it even more frustrating, when you are editing your site on the web, the functions that edit Square Online are not distinctly labeled from the functions that edit Square POS. A case in point is items. You have items and an item list under "online" but when you are on the Home page, you also have Items--this time editing the POS site, but without clear differentiation or labeling. 

I understand that the platforms were developed at different points in time and it may take time to initiate some of these changes, but surely Square could at least improve labeling--and syncing everything (or having a choice to do so) should be a top priority.

Message 1 of 2
1 REPLY 1
Super Seller

@JKO I have been with square quite a while even before the weebly purchase.  Here are some of the things I have found.

1.  Categories online do not correlate to categories in the point of sale..so don't even try to be honest.  Just know you have online categories and categories in the point of sale.  Think of the categories in the point of sale as a way to look at broad areas for reporting.  Online categories are more for organization in a menu for people to find stuff to buy.  I have learned to organize using item names sometimes to work with them faster online.