x
Square

Future of Food // Seller Insights // Sump Coffee

FoF Banner Sump.png

Hi Square Sellers! This week's interview is with Scott Carey of Sump Coffee. He talks about his ownership journey, new service strategies during Covid-19, and the opportunities that lie ahead.

Tell us about your business.

My partner and I were living in NY, and I was coming back to St. Louis to take care of my brother who was ill. I was an IP attorney and my partner was working for a large video game company. We decided to stay and open a cafe. We wanted to bring the specialty coffee experience we knew from New York to this city which at the time was missing in this market.

We opened Dec 1, 2011. We’re able to buy the building inexpensively and create a retail experience and an apt above for us to live in. We did most of the labor ourselves including replacing our main sewer line which wasn’t fun. We didn’t have a business plan. We basically packed our parachutes after we jumped out of the plane. Neither of us had ever worked in hospitality. We knew nothing about roasting coffee, nothing about making espresso drinks.

Sump Coffee Owner, Scott CareySump Coffee Owner, Scott Carey

Pocketful of Square Readers

We opened as cash only, we saw it work in New York at a ramen shop or for a slice of pizza so thought we’d try it. We noticed right away people in line would say they’d be right back but never return. So we knew we had a problem. About a month after we opened, Jack’s (Dorsey) dad started coming in almost everyday to get a cappuccino. He always had a pocketful of the first little Square readers. He was just a proud parent and so we tried it and it worked.

Eventually we got the full system once it came out because we’d just been working on a push-button cash register. I think food trucks in St. Louis were the first to use Square but we jumped in very early as a shop. We had to explain to everyone how to swipe and back then signing with your finger was a new thing.