x

Square Reader SDK Canada

Hello Square Mods,

I am a developer building an in person payments systems for a Client in Canada. I am interested in using the Square hardware and API, especially the Square Reader SDK in order to keep the payment experience within a custom app.

The limitations on the reader sDK says that its only available to US based accounts which I am assuming means works within US only. Are there any plans to open the reader SDK to Canadian based accounts ?

Thanks,

Message 1 of 14
1 Best Answer
Admin

Best Answer

Thank you @fortify - yes, that email is correct! The Python SDK is now available in Canada. 

️ Helen
Seller Community Manager

Did you find help in the Seller Community? Mark a Best Answer to help others.

View Best Answer >

Message 6 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
Admin

Hello @Drucker!

Thanks for your interest in the Square Reader SDK. You're right, the Reader SDK is not available outside of the US yet, but we're working on it! I can't share a timeline here in the Community but we'll post any updates as soon as they're available. Thanks for your patience in the meantime.

️ Helen
Seller Community Manager

Message 2 of 14

Hello @Helen,

I recently saw an announcement from square indicating that in app payments were now available in Canada. 

I am confused however whether I can accept in person payments using square hardware connected to my app. Because the reader SDK is still limited to us only. 

https://squareup.com/ca/en/developers/in-app-payments

Message 3 of 14
Admin

Hello again @Drucker! At this time the In-App payments SDK is available in Canada (and every other country that Square is available for card processing: the US, Australia, the UK and Japan).

However, using the Reader SDK for in-person payments is only available in the US. We'll certainly announce updates to this! 

️ Helen
Seller Community Manager

Message 4 of 14

I did receive this email, is this valid in Canada?