x

How do I send an invoice and request a deposit?

[The title of this thread has been edited from the original: Accepting deposits for photography services separate from my website]

I'm a commercial photographer. My business is mostly B2B where clients pay by check or direct deposit. But I have a few clients come to me during the year who want more consumer oriented portraits for themselves and I want to send them a simple invoice for a deposit fee so they can pay by credit card. Because of my business structure, I need to do this outside of my website. I'd just like to send people a Square invoice for the deposit that they can simply pay with a credit card. I'm hoping other people here have done this and can point me to the correct part of the Square site where I would set this up.

Many thanks! 

Nick

Message 1 of 18
1 Best Answer
Admin

Best Answer

Hey @Paddlr5001!

Thanks for your post. Welcome to the Seller Community! 

You can create an Invoice from your Online Dashboard

To request a deposit within an Invoice, please follow these instructions: 

1. Go to Invoices in your online Square Dashboard > Create Invoice.
  2. Select a customer from your Customer Directory, or enter a new name and email address.
  3. Under Line Items > Customize you can add items, apply modifiers, notes, and taxes.
  4. Click Request Deposit, enter the amount or percentage, select a due date and click Save. Deposits can be requested with a fixed dollar amount or as a percentage of the invoice total.
  5. Click Send.

Once your customer receives the invoice, they’ll be able to pay the deposit first, and then the remaining balance later. If they pay the remaining balance as a check, you can also just mark it as paid. 

Please let me know if you have any questions about this, by replying in this thread! 

️ Isabelle | she/her
Seller Community & Super Seller Program Manager | Square, Inc.
Learn about the Super Seller program!

View Best Answer >

Message 2 of 18
17 REPLIES 17
Admin