x

Add item using barcode?

Hi, All. 

I'm new to Square and trying to figure out how I'll use the inventory tools. I have a few questions about adding items using a barcode scanner. 

Can I add an item to Square using a barcode scanner? In other words, can I add to my inventory by scanning the barcode on a product (ISBN, for example) or do I have to manually type the SKU into a new item?

Also, let's say that I already have the item in stock and am adding to my stock with new inventory. Can I simply scan the barcode to change the number in stock? 

Lastly, can I look up whether I have an item in stock by scanning a barcode? 

Thanks much!

Message 1 of 26
1 Best Answer
Admin

Best Answer

Hi @konabaybooks! You can use a bar code scanner with an iPad or Android device to add an SKU when creating an item:

1. Open the app > tap Items > tap All Items to see your item library.
  2. Tap Create Item.
  3. Scan the bar code and the scanned SKU or UPC code will appear in the SKU field. 

Note: The steps above will populate the SKU in the SKU field but you'll need to enter the other details like the item name and price manually. Take a look at this Support Center article for a quick way to import items online using a CSV file. (You could add the SKU using that file, or set up your items with the file and then go back and scan the SKU to add it from the app.)

I'm afraid there isn't a way to add or check inventory with a bar code scanner (yet). This is a feature request we're tracking in this thread

️ Helen
Seller Community Manager

Did you find help in the Seller Community? Mark a Best Answer to help others.

View Best Answer >

Message 2 of 26
25 REPLIES 25
Admin

Best Answer

Hi @konabaybooks! You can use a bar code scanner with an iPad or Android device to add an SKU when creating an item:

1. Open the app > tap Items > tap All Items to see your item library.
  2. Tap Create Item.
  3. Scan the bar code and the scanned SKU or UPC code will appear in the SKU field.