x

With iPad or without?

Hi all,

I am new to Square and Electronic money transaction as I tend to be oldschool use cash for all my purchases. Also I am quite technologically inept. So pardon my questions if they sound non-sensical or "stupid".

Currently, I am in the middle of setting up a medical practice and looking to get a Square device. Deskspace is quite limited as my office is quite tiny. So I'm trying to minimize items in my clinic.

I've been pondering if I should just get the Square reader or buy the iPAD with it (I don't have a tablet yet)...

My questions are...

1. How do my clients enter their PIN number, because the Square reader has no keypad?

2. Will I be able to use my Laptop to do everything the iPAD device can do?

3. Can Square reader/iPAD be hardwired to the wallsocket for internet connectivity, just incase Wi-Fi becomes unavailable?

Thank you in advance. I may have some follow up questions later on.

Cheers

Bernard

Sydney, Australia.

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
Super Seller

very good and complicated questions.

I can't address how credit card processing works in Australia for chip and pin as I don't have experience with it.

it really depends on what you are trying to accomplish.  with your laptop, you can take lump sum payments right now without any additional hardware at a slightly higher rate.  it doesn't track item sales just accepts credit cards for deposit.

if you want to track items and services individually for records you will want to use Square POS on an iPad.  that way you can set up items and services ahead of time and then just choose them to check out when running the transaction.

Square on an iPad can't be hardwired to an ethernet cable and uses wifi.  you can use Square register with ethernet but that is a $999 device that would be overkill for that one feature.

let me know if you have further questions.

Message 2 of 3
Admin

Hey @bernardchu,

Thanks for getting in touch!