x

sales tax for invoice

Hello, I'm new to Square & I'm still setting up everything. However, I've received an order request and since I have invoice capabilities I decided to create an invoice for my customer. However, the sales tax shows on the invoice but it's not calculated in the total. I've enabled the taxes & I selected the add to option (apologies I can't remember the exact phrase). I know I didn't select the taxes included in price as I presumed that meant I had already added the taxes to the pricing. Of course the square office is closed today so I can't talk to a live person which a bummer because I have several other questions. I appreciate any advice that any of you can share.

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Alumni

Hey @KPK - I'd check if your tax is assigned to your items (or custom amount if you haven't uploaded them into your Library yet ) then try to create the invoice. 

Steps to modify tax settings are here - 

1. Visit Items > Taxes in your online Square Dashboard or Settings > Taxes in the Square app.
  2. Select the tax rate to update.
  3. From your dashboard, click Apply to Items. From the Square app, select the tax and tap Applicable Items.
  4. Select/deselect which items this tax should be applied to.
  5. Save.

Let me know if this helps! 

Justin
Community Moderator, Square
Sign in and click Mark as Best Answer if my reply answers your question.
Message 2 of 7

Thanks, Justin. But that still didn't work. For one I don't have the option to update taxes. I've tried to create a new tax rule & I've deleted the old tax rule(several times). Nothing is working. I will eventually produce hundreds of items and I really don't want to list each one of them individually in the item library just so that taxes can be added. Isn't there a way I can get the taxes to automatically calculate for any item entered in the invoices & to automatically be added to the dollar total?

Message 3 of 7
Alumni