x
Admin

How are you making your business more sustainable and/or environmentally friendly? โ™ป๏ธ ๐ŸŒฑ

Hi everyone! We are back from our break last week (I hope you didn't miss us too much!) with a new Question of the Week. This week, we are looking to learn...

How are you making your business more sustainable and/or environmentally friendly?

Feel free to share a link to your business in your reply too โ™ป๏ธ ๐ŸŒฑ! We look forward to reading all your recommendations and tips. 

Tra
Community Manager, Square
Have a burning question to ask in our Question of the Week? Share it with us!
Message 1 of 26
25 REPLIES 25
Super Seller

Oooh! This is one I think about alot. I like to consider myself a biologist still since that's what my degree is in, although I'm not in practice with owning a bakery! But then as a business owner, I have to make decisions to use one-time products to save on costs (like using disposable piping bags instead of fabric piping bags that need washing, and therefore more labor). As a bakery, one thing we do try to avoid is food waste-both from the business perspective but then also for the environmental perspective. We sell our day-old product in "mystery boxes". Our customers like the great deal and we like that we don't have to throw away product. 

Ali Kenis

Sugar Lab Bakeshop

Follow me on Instagram

Celebrating Since 2012
Message 2 of 26
Admin

Ohh, that's a great idea @sugarlab! My local coffee shops have mystery bags for sale at the end of the day and they are proving to be quite popular. 

Tra
Community Manager, Square
Have a burning question to ask in our Question of the Week? Share it with us!
Message 3 of 26
Super Seller Alumni

I'm in a similar situation. I have a degree in industrial engineering, but I own a bakery as well ๐Ÿ™‚

Jessica
Owner/Founder
We'reDough Bakery and Cookie Dough Cafe
Flint, MI
Message 4 of 26
Beta Member