x

How can I record a payment by check on an Invoice, and send a receipt?

The title of this post has been edited from the original: How do I send a receipt without having sent an invoice?

I'm fairly new to Square.  I have a customer who consistently sends check before I create my invoices at end of month.  I don't want to email her an invoice *after* she's already paid so I have been selecting the "share manually" option on the invoice so they don't receive it.  I then mark it as paid, but the sending of a receipt seems a bit messy.  As far as I can tell, there's no way to send a receipt while in the invoice itself.  The only place I've found a "send receipt" option is under "transactions" where it makes me type the email address by hand rather that allowing me to search my contact list to select an email address.  This is proving to be cumbersome.  Is there an easier way to do this that I'm just not seeing?

Message 1 of 21
1 Verified Answer
Verified Answer

Re: how to apply cash/check to open invoice ?

This reply was updated in 2020.

While Square doesn't process cash/check payments, you can mark an invoice as paid to help keep track of all of your payments no matter the method! 

To record a payment from your Square Dashboard:  

1.  Navigate to your online Square Dashboard.
2.  Select an invoice.
3. Select Record Payment and then select the payment type. If you processed your client’s payment with the Square app or Virtual Terminal, select "Square Point of Sale" to prevent duplicate reporting. Keep in mind, these will not appear as Invoice transactions in sales reports.
4. Click Confirm.

You can also mark an invoice as paid from the Invoices app or from Square Point of Sale app. Open the app and selecting the invoice > click Add Payment > select Record Payment > then select the payment type.

1 Best Answer
Super Seller

Best Answer

Hey @Huladog 

You can record a payment for check and send a receipt by trying the following.