x

Items vs. services and sales tax report not matching items sold

Hi,

I've been trying to look at a report of my sales tax collected, and I have a couple issues. I am a stylist who doesn't do a lot of retail. So I have all my hair services under "services" and my retail items under "items." When I look at all items sold, it lists every single thing, all of my services AND retail products as an item. This makes it annoying to scroll through and find just my retail products sold?

Also, when I manually add up all the retail items sold vs. the sales tax report, it simply doesn't match. I have every retail product set to collect sales tax, but according to the reports I'm ~$50 short on products sold (and therefore tax collected). This isn't a massive deal, but I'd like to clean this all up and understand where the leak is?

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Square Community Moderator

Welcome to the Community, @hlhaavisto

Have you tried exporting the Item Sales report to help sort through items vs. sales? It would be an easier way to display the differences. 

Also, do you have any other taxes set up on your items that could be attached to services? 

I will keep an eye out for your reply👀

Kassi
Community Moderator, Square
Sign in and click Mark as Best Answer if my reply answers your question.
Message 2 of 5

Hi, thanks!

I did export the report, but because the percentage of retail items to services is so small, searching through the spreadsheet was useless and I couldn't make the find function in Excel work for me.

I don't have any other taxes set up, as in my state services are not taxed, and I double checked to make sure it was only sales tax attached to the items.

I am probably moving toward not offering retail in person in 2023, so this may all be moot lol. Thanks for your help, though!

Message 3 of 5
Square Champion

Hi! I have definitely had this issue before as well - let me show you how to fix it.

1. Create categories. EX: SERVICES, RETAIL