x

My Square Card was stolen! What do I do?

[The title of this thread has been edited from the original: Square Debit Card Compromised - Please help?]

I've had a Square debit card since they started offering them. Today I received two emails with debits of $106 and $212 at a Target store that I did not make, and the emails said that the transactions had been declined due to insufficient funds. I still have the money ($100) that the $106 transaction tried to take, but I am still missing the money from the second transaction, $212. Based on my balance activity, it looks like the transaction for $212 was attempted a second time and is listed as "pending". Support doesn't open until Monday - has this happened to anyone else? I've been using the Square app for 6 years, and the debit card for a year, this is the first time anything like this has happened.

Message 1 of 33
1 Best Answer
Admin

Best Answer

Hey @FPP!

I am so sorry about that. It sounds like your Square Card was stolen.

Because we don't have weekend phone support available for all sellers, I would suggest disabling your Square Card in the meantime.

If your Square Card is stolen, you can cancel and reorder it from your Square app. This will automatically disable your card. Your funds will continue to accrue in your Square balance while you wait for your new card to arrive, but you can manually transfer that money to your linked bank account at any time.

From your online Square Dashboard on a computer:

1. Go to the Balance tab > select Square Card.
  2. Click Card Management.
  3. Next to Status, click on the blue “…” icon.
  4. Select Report Lost or Stolen > Order a New Card.

We do have weekend email support, so I would suggest sending us an email so we can look into the transactions. Let me know if you have any additional questions. 

️ Isabelle | she/her
Seller Community & Super Seller Program Manager | Square, Inc.
Learn about the Super Seller program!

View Best Answer >

Message 11 of 33