x

Customer name on receipts

Customer name on receipts

Hi I am new to square. .is there a way of having the customers name come up on the receipt? Please note I am not wanting to know about invoices.. thanks

70 Comments

It’s tricky but it does work. Here are the steps 

• Set up the sale

• Go in to review sale

• Tap on your item

• Now you will see a space for notes, type your customers name in here and Save. You should now see the note in your sale 😊

Admin

Hey @TiimRMT,

I tested this out just now via the Virtual Terminal and it worked - though I don't actually have a Terminal to test this specific integration. @Smarthealing has also offered some advice on doing this on the Terminal itself:

• Set up the sale

• Go in to review sale

• Tap on your item

• Now you will see a space for notes, type your customers name in here and Save.

If neither of these work it would probably be a good idea to get in touch with our Support team for more assistance here - You can call on 1800 760 137. Lines are open Mon-Fri, 9am-5pm Melbourne time (AEST).

Hello Seamus,

It appears I'm not the only one with the same gripe.

I have read through and tested various features indicated both here in forums and in application to no avail.

We run a hire business where we hold bonds for customers until they return our gear.

I can't find where we find the clients name attached to a specific transaction to confirm a) if they've paid and b) we can refund that specific payment.

The above posts work around of writing a customers details into a notes section seems slow, clunky and potentially inaccurate to me.

Is this a feature that I simply have not found yet (frustrating) or is this a hole in the square offering (even more frustrating).

Thanks

John

Admin

Hey @missfit,

At the moment there's no way to have a customer's name automatically appear on a receipt unfortunately - the notes section is it for now if you want a customer's name to appear on a receipt issued by Square.