x
Beta Member

Square Reader: device not supported

I have been using my square reader for a few months till today when connect my phone, the App says "Device Not Supported". I have tried to reset the device many times, but still have the same issue. It is very frustrating as it is for my business. Can anyone have any ideas to get this problem fixed?

Many Thanks.

SonnyScreenshot of the messageScreenshot of the message 

Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
Admin

Hey @yslaundrette,

Thanks for getting in touch and sorry to hear you're having trouble with your reader.

Are you able to let me know what make and model phone you're using so I can check for compatibility?

Seamus
Square, Australia
Sign in and click Mark as Best Answer if my reply answers your question.
Message 2 of 15
Beta Member

Hi,

I am using Huawei P20 pro,  Android version 10 and it has been working fine since the beginning for a few months. This incident happened suddenly. I believe that I saw an update of the reader and then the "devise not supported" came out. I even tried on another phone and the same shows.

Message 3 of 15
Beta Member

Hi Seamus,

I am using Huawei P20 pro,  Android version 10 and it has been working fine since the beginning for a few months. This incident happened suddenly. I believe that I saw an update of the reader and then the "devise not supported" came out. I even tried on another phone and the same shows.

Message 4 of 15
Admin

Hey @yslaundrette, apologies for the delay getting back to you, I've been out of office until now.

If you're receiving this message on what should otherwise be a compatible Android device (the P20 Pro is tested as compatible) then there's likely an app or setting on the phone that is conflicting with Square being able to form a secure connection to the device to use it to take card payment.

One thing we suggest is turning off Hisuite on your Huawei device.

1. Go to Settings on your device.
  2. Tap on More Settings