x

Xero Invoices and Accepting Payment via Square Reader

Hi Square Community,

I am new to Square and this forum, so I apologise if I have missed the answer to my question.

My current situation is:

• I generate invoices with Xero
  • I add the appropriate surcharge to the invoice to cover the Square Reader processing fee (I understand that this cannot be added automatically)
  • The customer pays the invoice using the Square Reader

I have integrated Square and Xero but is there a way in Square to select an Xero invoice as the item being billed via Square Reader?

Any help is appreciated.

Kind regards,

Tim

Kind regards,
Tim B.
Message 1 of 8
1 Best Answer

Best Answer

Hi @Emanda,

I received the following email from the Amaka support team.

If you create invoices for each Square transaction processed in Square, it is recommended to turn off the Sales Sync module of the Square and Xero integration so that the sales will not double up. The Sales Sync module of the integration summarises all Square transactions into an invoice to record the sales.

To turn off the Sales Sync, go to Integrations Dashboard and login to the Square account.

1. On the integration, expand the options menu ••• and then click Edit
  2. Go to the Features page and toggle off the Sales Sync and then click Save and Continue

Meanwhile, if you invoice from Xero and accept payments through Square, you need to mark the invoice as paid by adding a payment on the lower part of the invoice. Allocate the payment to Square Balance.

The integration syncs the Square deposit and Square Fee so in your bank feed, you can easily reconcile the Square transfer and click ok on the matching bank transfer transaction.

Hope this information is useful.

Kind regards,

Tim B.

Kind regards,
Tim B.

View Best Answer >

Message 5 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Admin

Hey @Tim_Butler,

Thanks for getting in touch and welcome to the Seller Community 🙂