x

Is Square for Retail good for a tailor shop?

Hello,

I'm new to Square and have some questions, I hope someone can give me some insights.

We are a small tailor shop and we are looking at ways to optimize our order system. So unlike a clothing store, we don't sell clothes but service to alter clothes. We currently are using Geelus and there are some pros/cons. We use a Square stand to charge for our customers and we are looking at Square for Retail to see if we should transfer to Square. I'm on Square for Retail trial and trying to put together my inventory/order set

So couple of questions:

• Is there anyone has experience with Square for Retails for a shop that offer services, rather than products? What's your opinion on this system?
  • I need a set of orders that is flexible. I tried modifiers but when testing the order, it is a fixed price (as set). Is there a way to change the price (because in our orders, sometimes prices go up/down for the same job/service depends on the kind of fabric)
  • With Geelus we print out a ticket that has a barcode, and use that barcode to keep up with orders. Now without barcode, what other alternatives you have use to keep track of orders?

Thank you.

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Super Seller

Is there a feature in Square for Retail you really think you need or can you use what 98% of people use, including me, the Free Square POS?

Message 2 of 7

I am in the same boat.  I have an alteration/tailoring shop.  I started using square, but haven't quite figured out how to tailor the receipts for the services provided.

Message 3 of 7
Square Community Moderator