x

How do I comp a Gift Card or eGift Card?

The title of this thread has been changed from: How to comp a gift card

I’ve been using the square gift cards for about 6 months now and frequently donate comped gift cards. I just realized all of those cards I gave out show a zero balance because it was comped and that feature does not work. I can only imagine the problems this will cause when those cards start coming back.  Not happy. 

Message 1 of 29
1 Best Answer
Super Seller

Best Answer

to give out a gift card with a full balance but not add any money to your register you can ring up a gift card like usual,  then add a 100% discount and finish the transaction.  the card will be loaded but no money will be added to your daily sales.

View Best Answer >

Message 2 of 29
28 REPLIES 28
Super Seller

Best Answer

to give out a gift card with a full balance but not add any money to your register you can ring up a gift card like usual,  then add a 100% discount and finish the transaction.  the card will be loaded but no money will be added to your daily sales.

Message 2 of 29

I assume this is for the plastic cards correct?  If so, how do I comp EGift cards.

TIA

Bill

Regards,
Bill CCO
Message 3 of 29
Admin

@CRF You should be able to follow the same steps and apply a 100% discount when you sell an eGift Card from your Point of Sale! 

️ Helen
Seller Community Manager

Did you find help in the Seller Community? Mark a Best Answer to help others.
Message 4 of 29
Beta Member

Is there a way to send complimentary e-Gift cards to guests if we have their email and information on file?  

Message 5 of 29
Square Community Moderator

Hi there, @BrownButterNOLA 👋 Thanks for taking the time to reach out to us here on the Seller Community! Glad to hear from you again!