x

Hyperlinks in email campaigns warn of malware.

Hello - I'm new to Square email marketing and have encountered a serious issue. I'm using hyperlinks as a highlighted word, image, and the Square button. When a customer receives the marketing email and follow the links, they are directed to a URL that warns that the link is dangerous and contains malware. https://sqclick.com/outreach/t/mWP9TkPJnL9eZWKg.

Is anyone else having this problem and have you found a solution?

It doesn't happen every time. I forwarded the email to a colleague and after they clicked the button in a test email I watched the URL change from the bad gateway to the correct link.

PR

Message 1 of 10
1 Verified Answer
Verified Answer

Re: Birthday Marketing link brings up malware warning website for many customers

Hi @Olivesmom and @jonnychong. I went ahead and moved your comments over to another thread on the same topic. As for your concerns - I totally understand and I'm happy to shed light on this situtation for you (and everyone else). 

To get going, our engineering team is aware of this issue and they're on it. As for what actually happened, we made a change to the URLs that we use inside campaigns and this was an uninteded consequence. I can assure you that there are no safety concerns. Also, any campaign sent out going foward should be fine. We're also working with Google to remove the warning from previous campaigns that were sent. 

If you do hear from your customers, you can assure them that there's no need for concern and that we're on it! Please let me know if you have any other questions - I'd be happy to help out! 

9 REPLIES 9

Hey there, this happened to me too this morning when I was sending an email announcement of my recently launched webstore TheNerdporium.com. Not a good way to let know they can buy from us securely! Very disappointing. I don't know why Square isn't addressing this. 

Message 2 of 10
Admin