x

Variations are showing up as individual line items when imported from an excel file.

We are in the process of transferring the retail side of our business into using square. When I populated the item library with our new inventory I created items with variations to cover multiple items. For example, different colors of an item. When I up load this, the library is showing a line item for each variation with a drop down menu with that one variation in it. I am new to square inventory management and am not sure how to correct this.

thesmokingbird_0-1622849415089.png

Like this image. I want the item to just say Amira Aura Hookah, and under that have each color option. 

Here is how I have the excel set up with token | item | variation

thesmokingbird_1-1622849539723.png

Thanks for any help.

Message 1 of 7
1 Verified Answer
Verified Answer

Re: Variations are showing up as individual line items when imported from an excel file.

Unfortunately there’s not a way to import the inventory list from excel the way you want that I am aware of. What I was able to do is import the main items to get everything in the system then go in from the dashboard and add each variation manually. It actually goes very quickly since you already have the main line items populated. So you would import your list and then click on add variation in that hookah item, enter the color,price, etc. then click create & add another until you have all the variations for that item populated. Been using it for years and it’s the only way I have been able to get it setup correctly. I own a vape shop so have to add new profiles and levels constantly.  Once it’s setup correctly though it’s well worth the effort. I had to redo my entire inventory when I switched over from using Shopventory and it only took me 6 hours to get my entire shop items and variations setup 

2 Best Answers
Super Seller

Best Answer