x

(www.) to non www. or visa versa

Being a complete noob at SEO (still am) and before I got Weebly I was using .htaccess files to redirect my www. domains to non www.domains and vice versa for a couple of sites I own.

For those that don't know, Google sees www. sites and none www. sites (for example http://www.yourdomain.com and http://youdomain.com) as two different entities and marks your site as duplicate. In the world of SEO duplication can damage your site....You need a permanent 301 redirect at server level to make sure Google knows what you are using....I think...

I have told Google, via the webmaster tools, which version of the site I want crawled, however without access to the server side of things, as it's on Weebly I can't change the htaccess file.

Am I wrong in assuming that this cannot be done with Weebly, or even needs to be done, being that Google knows which one to look at? 

Message 1 of 32
1 Best Answer
Square

Best Answer

It looks like you have an extra A record, @mistu:

mistu.es	A	184.168.221.41
mistu.es	A	199.34.228.48
www.mistu.es	A	199.34.228.48

If you remove that top record it should fix the problem for you.

View Best Answer >

Message 11 of 32
31 REPLIES 31
Square

That's a great question!

We automatically forward the root domain to www.yourdomain.com for this reason (the exception being subdomains, which we don't so you don't end up with www.mysubdomain.mydomain.com), so you don't need to add that redirect in yourself.

This should prevent Google from seeing them as different sites, and it works in much the same way as forwarding a wholly separate domain name.  If your site is published to mydomain.com, and you forward myotherdomain.com to mydomain.com, all google knows is what it sees at www.mydomain.com.  It doesn't view myotherdomain.com or mydomain.com (without the www) as duplicate sites because the end destination of both is www.mydomain.com.