x

Inventory management in Square

I have been working with Square for about 9 months now. As a computer professional, I offer this insight for new users to Square.

1. If you plan on having more than 40 or more inventory items to manage. Pick another application method.

Justification for Statement

I personally have a business with over 400 line items in my inventory. Items with a lot of turn-over. Items where the images for my products change because of the method (s) I use to make them. i.e. different color stain, different color wood, or just change the whole item visually.

This necessitates the changing of the images associated with the products. The description of the products, The pricing of products. Sometimes even the category an item may belong. So you're reading this and saying ... well just create a new item in the library and move on. And while that may be a down and dirty simple solution on the surface of the issue. The problem begins to creep in when trying to sell your product at a trade show. Searching through 100's of dead inventory line items to find the right one. Not to mention the negative impact on the Square database network for managing the inventory in the first place.

And just for the newly initiated to Square Item Library. Let's talk about item entry into the Library.

Step 1. Take a picture or acquire a picture of the item you plan to sell. Now keep in mind that the JPEG or PNG image cannot exceed an oddball size of 720 px X 720 px. (This is according to Square). If you try doing something greater it gets truncated or askew. Take notice also of the method the image was produced. If using an IPAD - Orientation matters! If you don't. Every image in the library could be upside down!!

So you've taken your 100+ pictures massaged them, and renamed them in such a way you can identify and are ready to add items to the library.