x

How do I process an invoice that was sent to the customer via email, when they pay in person?

I'm brand new to Square and wish there was a demo mode available to be able to figure things out before going live.

That said..... if I send a customer an estimate via email and they accept the estimate, a) is an invoice automatically generated and sent?  If so, and they receive the invoice but come in person to pay, what steps to I take for them to make the payment?

Using the Terminal, can my staff look up their name via the terminal, find the invoice and accept payment through the terminal?

Thanks!

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Square Community Moderator

Hi @Gernman -

Yes, the estimate will create the invoice. You will still be able to pull up the invoice on your Terminal whenever the customer comes in. 

Here are the steps to do so: 

1. Select Invoices from the navigation menu.
  2. Click on the invoice from your list or learn how to create an Invoice on your mobile device and tap Add Payment.
  3. Swipe, Insert, or Tap your customer’s card, charge a saved card on file, or select a separate tender type (Cash, Gift Card, Check or Other.)
  4. You’ll see a final screen that reads Invoice Paid after the payment completes.
  5. Your customer will automatically receive payment confirmation to the email entered for their Invoice.
Kassi
Community Moderator, Square
Sign in and click Mark as Best Answer if my reply answers your question.
Message 2 of 8

how do i do an invoice for someone paying cash

Message 3 of 8

Hey @318671! Welcome to the Community.

I moved your post to a relevant thread that goes through how to send an invoice and accept your cash payment.

It's gonna be the same as sending any other invoice- but the difference is once the customer gives you the cash you'll need to go in and mark the invoice as paid by selecting > Add Payment as @Kassi_ listed above.

Ashley C
Message 4 of 8