x
Beta Member

Faster Checkout Options

Hello all,

We have been using the square system for a while now, and the POS register as of the 1st of the year.  It works for us but not as well as I would like.  We sell a mix of one off vintage items and new items, and have around 2200 items in the system right now, but are nowhere near finished adding.  We are using it in combination with a woo commerce based website.  

Invoices for repairs flow pretty smoothly, but when it comes to just a normal shoppers check out process things really slow down. I have a few pages set up on screen, but we certainly don't have room to list all the items and categories are worthless without being able to upload icons to them. Most of them time this results in us doing an all item search. Far too often we aren't finding the item. At a PC we can find it quickly in the items list but not through the POS.  

My current thought is adding either a bar code scanner which I have no experience with or seeing if we can get a keyboard or at least 10 key attached to make searching faster.

With the barcode scanner will I need to change the sku to match the barcode or can those exist independently of each other? Our skus are set up to match our distributor for easier reordering, so I don't want to change those.

Is there a keyboard or 10 key that's compatible with the system, that might makes these tedious searches faster?

Is this all a lost cause? Did we choose the wrong system for our needs?

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Square Community Moderator

Thanks for reaching out about this! Large inventories can be a lot to manage on any system, so I'm tagging a group of our Super Sellers to see if they have any advice on how to manage inventory from a business owner perspective.