x

New to Square: best practice for adding unique art items?

I'm new to Square POS. I'm starting to sell my wood turnings (bowls, pens, etc.) at craft shows and I'm curious what the best practice is for entering items when every item is unique. For example, I have multiple pens in a certain style but each one is unique in regards to the wood I use, segmenting, turning details, etc. In my non-Square inventory app on my iPad every turned item I make has a unique SKU/serial number. There are similarities however. Pens, for example, use metal hardware that can be the same between pens.

So is the best practice to create an item for a pen type, then create the unique items as variations? Or should each unique pen I have be it's own item? I think the latter would be unmanageable on the Checkout screen. I do want to easily track the individual item SKU/serial when I make a sale as that goes back to my other database where every item has its own photo.

How do other artists do this when every item they have is unique in some way?

Thanks in advance,

Jim

Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
Admin

Hello and welcome to Square @retrojim😀

Sounds like you've got quite the selection of pens! So question for you... Are your pens different from one another in that one will have, let's say, one type of wood and one type of turning detail... then another would be made from a different type of wood and one type of segmenting?

I'm trying to get a gauge first of how many different types of pens you actually have as far as inventory goes. This will help me guide you in the right direction for set up. I'm thinking that using categories with modifiers would be best... but first let me know what your inventory count looks like and we'll go from there!

Bea_
Beta Community Manager, Square
Join the Beta Community
Evaluate | Influence | Engage
Message 2 of 13