x
Super Seller

Online Store, decimal values?

Now that items can be sold in fractions of a unit (with a decimal value)... I'm starting to wonder how the Square Online Store would work with items that are sold by weight. I saw this article explaining

"Items set up to be sold in decimal quantities will be available on your Online Store but you can only sell them as whole numbers online."

I'm not sure I understand what this means though. I have never used the Square Online site before. But it seems that items I have setup to be sold in decimal quantities do not show up in the Online Store that I have messed around with.

This makes me curious if the new decimal quantities work with @Ecwid store and their Unlimited plan syncing inventory w/ a physical location... We use Ecwid on our website and a Square integration for payments. We didn't ever need to sync inventory before because we couldn't track items by weight anyway (not with Square).

Now that that's all changed, I'm trying to find the easiest way possible for us to sell items by weight (like fresh produce) online for instore pickup.

Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
Square Community Moderator

Hey! Thanks for reaching out about this - I am wondering if by "items I have setup to be sold in decimal quantities do not show up in the Online Store that I have messed around with" means that the items are not showing up at all in your online store, or if they are showing up, are only able to be sold in whole quantities?

The latter should be true - that you can sell any items with quantity on the online store, but those with decimal quantities will only be sold as whole number amounts and not in partial quantities (say, you will sell 2 yards of fabric instead of 1.9 yards of fabric).

As far as Ecwid goes, I would certainly reach out to them to see if they would support that type of inventory integration.

Let me know if this makes sense. Thank you!

AshleyK
Community Moderator, Square