x

Anybody else annoyed as hell to find Afterpay activated without your permission?

Hey Square, since you so wisely have chosen not to have any handy information about how to contact YOU:  I'm not sure why you thought it was a good idea to activate Afterpay without asking me.  This is a deli.  I sell lunch for a living.  If someone needs an installment plan to pay for their lunch, I'm sure there are government agencies that can help.  Yes of course I realize you announced it to me on a little bullet point on my page.  And that I could de-activate it, which I did.  But should I really have to do that?  This thing starts at the "discounted" rate of exactly what I'm paying for regular processing, AND THEN IT DOUBLES.  You pull this kind of crap again and you really are fired.  I will invest in all new equipment or whatever it takes to find a replacement.  Either that or I will shutter the place permanently before I will let you run it from your distant cubicles and help yourself to more of my money whenever you feel like it.  How f**king dare you.  You might want to get your PR department on a really sincere-sounding public apology before the outrage hits social media.

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
Alumni

Hi @LSM306 -

First off, we apologize for the frustration this has caused you and appreciate you sharing this feedback. By auto-enabling Afterpay for Square Online sellers, we intended to remove a layer of friction and automate the get-started process for Afterpay to help sellers get maximum value from the introductory pricing period. It has been shown that businesses using Afterpay see a 20% increase in cart conversion on average, and more repeat customers; therefore, we wanted to make sure that every business can take advantage of this new functionality and those that do not can easily opt out.