x

holding my money because my customer spent $1215. Have to submit all sorts of documents? really

A customer spends $1215, via facetime with me because they live in a different State. Now because that charge is a little higher then the normal charge. Square is holding my money. They require my ID, Invoice for the purchase, Bank statements and a ton of other documents. The charge is legit, I have been using square for a few years now. I have never had charge backs or any issues. I am not submitting anything, I will call them when they are in, and they WILL release my money.

Not acceptable at all!!!!

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
Super Seller

Hi @kosmickornerinc.  Sorry to hear about the delay in getting your funds.  Hopefully, I can explain this a little.  

Square is probably not the one who is holding your money.  You mentioned a few things that are almost always automatic red flags — customer spending via FaceTime (which I assume means you keyed in the card number, etc, manually) AND the fact that the charge is higher than normal AND the fact that the customer is out of state.  It sounds like all three of these are different from most of your transactions, right?  If so any one of these can cause Mastercard, or even the customer’s card-issuing bank, to question the charge.  If they think it is suspicious, they will instruct Square to investigate and they will withhold money from Square until the investigation is completed.

Most likely someone — the card network (Mastercard, etc), the customer’s card-issuing bank, or even the customer themselves — is disputing or questioning the charge.  That’s a fact.  If Square approved the transaction, it is probably not Square who is doing this.  But federal law says that once someone questions the charge, they have to investigate.  Period.