x

so debit card transactions aren't true payments? thanks for telling me!

I'm new to Square, so when I took a payment (or so I thought) by debit card, it looked a bit different from other transacations i've made via credit card.

But now I'm seeing (I think) that square doesn't actually process payments by debit card--but only lets them show up for accounting purposes? Is that right?

If that's so, did I just allow a customer to make a nearly $300 payment, and now I have to track them down to really get the payment by some other means?

Am I reading the help FAQ's correctly?

If square doesn't really take debit card payments couldn't there be some message that comes up saying, "this transaction will only be recorded for accounting purposes; no payment will be processed."?

confused...

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Admin

Hey @sacredsoma, sorry to hear about the confusion with these payments.

Square processes debit cards the same way as credit cards. That being said, we do offer additional tender options for tracking purposes:

• Check
  • Gift Card
  • Cash
  • Other

Since we aren't able to discuss payment-specifics within the online community for privacy purposes, please feel free to let our Support Team know which payments are missing. They'll double check everything and let you know how to proceed.

Hope this helps get you in the right direction, and let us know if anything else comes up!

️ Tom | he/him
Seller Community Manager | Square, Inc.
Find step-by-step help in our Support Center
Message 2 of 7
Square Champion

Taking a Debit or credit card is no different to you the end user.  You will receive payment thru Square from either form of payment (credit/debit) from your customer.  

Square treats Debit cards as credit cards so the card is ran just like a credit card (not like a debit card that needs a pin entered for payment)

Message 3 of 7

thank you, but when I ran the card, Square asked if I wanted to "tender" the amount, which I did.