x

Uploading Inventory - Variation Issues

I am a Golf Professional and Liquidator. Many of the items I have fall under the same brand, have the same size in different colors, and very rarely do I get more than 2 of a particular style. This task is overwhelming and daunting, and I do not want to continue entering all my items (over 1400) until I have the correct procedure down. For example, I have 8 footjoy shirts, 3 large (1 blue, 1 red, 1 yellow), 2 xlarge (1 white, 1 blue), and 3 small (1 red, 1 green, 1 purple).

• Under "Item Name" on the spreadsheet, I am entering Footjoy Men's Polo
  •  
  • Under "Description" I'm entering what the shirt is called (i.e. Footjoy Traveler Polo)
  • Under "Category" I'm entering, Men's Polos

I am not sure whether to enter the different variations under "Variation Name" Column or "Option Name 1/Option Value 1." Entering 1 or the other, I am getting 2 different error messages saying:

• "An item and its variations must have the same description. Update the descriptions for the following rows: [31 32 33 34 35 36]."
  • "For the item B Draddy Men's Polo, all variations must use the same option sets. Update the option sets for the variations in the following rows: [15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24]." 

I don't know what to do to make this correction and enter all information the correct way. Thank you for your help in advance.

Message 1 of 2
1 REPLY 1
Super Seller

@MIKEYGOLF ;

What I would do is go to your Square Dashboard.

Items- add (create) a new item.   And create 1 Item with the MOST information you can.

So for example Create a new Item:

Item Name - Footjoy Men's Polo

Description - Footjoy Traveler Polo

Then for Variations - Create 2 Option Sets

Size - Small, Large, X-Large

Color -  Blue Red Yellow White Green Purple.

Then enter a Quanty and anything else you may need included, Tax, SKU, GTIN, Sellable, Location etc.