x

Chip reader will not connect / pair to my tablet

I have been using my Square for at least a couple years with no problems. Last night after running a few transactions the chip reader lost connection and I cannot get it to reconnect.  It is charged.  I held the button down for a few seconds and it switched to 4 flashing orange lights to indicate pairing but it would not connect.  When I got home I tried my other Square unit and the same thing happened. I bought both Squares at the same time 2-3yrs ago.  Bluetooth was enabled. Internet connection was good. I uninstalled/reinstalled the Square app on both my tablet and my Android phone but they still won't connect/ pair.  Any suggestions?  Do the chip readers have some sort of useful lifespan?  

Message 1 of 11
2 Best Answers
Admin

Best Answer

@Johnnyhotdogger I'm sorry to hear about the trouble you had with your readers, that's really odd! It sounds like you've done a good bit of troubleshooting already but I also recommend making sure that your devices (tablet/phone) are up to date and you could try resetting the reader.

If that doesn't do the trick don't hesitate to call in and our team can you get back up and running! 

️ Helen
Seller Community Manager

Did you find help in the Seller Community? Mark a Best Answer to help others.

View Best Answer >

Message 2 of 11
Square Community Moderator

Best Answer

Hi! It does sound like you need to charge your reader. 

The following colors indicate different battery states:

* Green: Fully charged

* Amber (Yellow): Charging

* Red: Low battery or no charge

When your reader is in pairing mode, you’ll see orange blinking lights. Once you see these lights, immediately release your finger.

If you see red flashing lights, you’ve held the power button for too long and your reader will reset. Do not let go of the power button until after the red lights have stopped flashing.

AshleyK
Community Moderator, Square