x

How do you cancel a sale?

The title of this thread was updated from its original title: “cancel”

Hello all,

I'm brand new to Square and just received my reader today. In the process of testing and getting familiar with it a created a sale and swiped my card. I now want to cancel the sale and clear all the information but for the life of me, can't figure out how to do it. I've been searching support and the community for the better part of 45 minutes and can't find the information. It must so obvious, no one else has ever had to ask how to do it.

Message 1 of 16
1 Best Answer
Super Seller

Best Answer

You can refund your transaction, info here https://squareup.com/help/us/en/article/6116-process-refunds

There isn't a way to delete the transaction, but by refunding it your books will be balanced.

View Best Answer >

Message 2 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
Super Seller

Best Answer

You can refund your transaction, info here https://squareup.com/help/us/en/article/6116-process-refunds

There isn't a way to delete the transaction, but by refunding it your books will be balanced.

Message 2 of 16

I want to cancel the sale because it should have been for $83.20 and my finger hit the 2 again so she was charge $832.02!!! Issuing a refund is not a good option for a client!!! It says it will take days for her to use that money that now has a hold in her account!! This is very bad for my business!

Message 3 of 16
Alumni

Hi @Juliem - It looks like our Facebook team has already escalated your case to CS who will be able to help you further. They will follow up via email so keep an eye on your inbox.

Puka - She/They
Seller Community UX Designer
Message 4 of 16

This isn't much help for the rest of us and it seems such an obvious eventuality to prepare for.  Is there a publicly available solution?

Message 5 of 16
Super Seller